Signing of Memorandum of Cooperation with International Solar Alliance

On May 21 (Saturday), Memorandum of Cooperation between the Government of Japan, Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC), Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) and New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (NEDO) and International Solar Alliance (ISA) on Cooperation in Solar Energy Field was signed at ISA Secretariat (Haryana, India) by the following signatories:
Mr. KAWAZU Kunihiko, Chargé d'Affaires ad interim of Japan to India, Deputy Chief of Mission, Minister, Embassy of Japan (on behalf of the Government of Japan)
Mr. KURIHARA Toshihiko, Chief Representative, JBIC New Delhi Representative Office
Mr. SAITO Mitsunori, Chief Representative, JICA India Office
Mr. KAKU Yoshiro, Chief Representative, NEDO New Delhi Office
Dr. Ajay Mathur, Director General, ISA
The objective of this Memorandum is to establish a framework for a cooperative, institutional relationship to encourage and promote concrete multilateral cooperation among the Government of Japan, JBIC, JICA NEDO and ISA in the field of renewable energy.
Cooperation under this MOC includes the following areas:
1) Solar technologies and associated technologies as a means of promoting renewable energy;
2) Energy efficiency, energy saving and energy storage technologies;
3) Technological innovations in the solar energy industry and promotion of cleantech ecosystem in the member countries of ISA; and
4) Other areas as may be decided upon by the Participants.
Outline of the International Solar Alliance (ISA)
The initiative was launched by the Government of India together with the Government of France during the 21st Conference of the Parties at the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP21) in November 2015. The objective was to develop a platform for cooperation among countries rich in solar-derived resources, aiming at the rapid and significant expansion of the scale of solar energy consumption in the international community.
“The Framework Agreement on the Establishment of International Solar Alliance (ISA)” has been signed by 106 countries including Japan as of May 21 this year, out of which 86 countries have ratified it. The Secretariat is located in Haryana, India.