What's New Press Releases from the Embassy
Japan-India Relations
Press Release No.

New Delhi: November 3, 2009


On 3 November 2009, His Majesty AKIHITO, Emperor of Japan honoured Dr. Rajendra Kumar Pachauri, Chairman of Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change with Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the enhancement of Japan’s policy towards Climate Change.

About Dr. R.K. Pachauri:

Dr. Pachauri has played a key role in forging a global consensus on the climate change debate. Known for his diplomatic skills, he served as the lead author of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Second Assessment Report, went on to become the Chair of the IPCC, and in 2007, compiled the Fourth Assessment Report. Stating that the warming of the climate system is unequivocal, the report had a phenomenal impact on the Climate Change debate all over the world including Japan. It gave scientific basis for the ‘Cool Earth 50’ Initiative, announced by former Prime Minister Abe, aimed at creating a new international framework to fight global warming beyond the 2012 expiration of the Kyoto Protocol.

In 2008, the Nobel Peace Prize was shared between Al Gore and IPCC, for the efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change.

Dr. Pachauri holds multiple positions other than the Chairman of IPCC, such as the member of Prime Minister’s Advisory Council on Climate Change, the member of United Nations Global Humanitarian Forum, the member of International Advisory Board of Toyota Corporation, and the Director on the Board of Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES).

Dr. Pachauri was awarded the Padma Bhushan in 2001, and Padma Vibhushan in 2008, India's third and second highest civilian honour. Also, in 2006, he was bestowed with the Officer of the Legion of Honour by the French government for his contribution to field of environment and sustainable development.

About the Orders of the Rising Sun:

The Orders of the Rising Sun established in 1875 were Japan’s first awards. These decorations are conferred in recognition of individual’s (both Japanese and foreign) distinguished accomplishments. The Orders of the Rising Sun are classified into six ranks: Grand Cordon of the Order of the Rising Sun, The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star, The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon, The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Rosette, The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Rays and The Order of the Rising Sun, Silver Rays.

These decorations feature rays of sunlight radiating from a rising sun. The attachments are shaped into paulownia flowers and leaves.